Booze + Fried Things = Good Times


I went to my first wine festival this weekend. I had a great time, tried some great wines (and some not-so-great), and brought several of them home with me. But I think I’m just not a big enough fan of wine to think of it as super-exciting. This particular festival is great if you like to experiment though – lots of fruit, lots of varieties of sweet wines, which are just not my thing. Where’s a decent pinot grigio or cabernet when you need one? But most importantly, I had a great time on a gorgeous day with two fabulous friends (including the one and only Healthy Mika)!

DSCF0002DSCF0007DSCF0011DSCF0019

_____________________________________________________

I’m a good Southern girl, and that means I like vegetables fried (I also like my pulled pork with a tomato-based sauce, but that’s a whole other post). I took it one step further last night at our most recent cookout by frying up some asparagus and eggplant “fries” with seasoned flour and yellow-grits breading. They were both a success but the eggplant was my particular favorite. I also made this Old Bay aioli as a dipping sauce for them, and it was delicious. My friends and I agreed, though, that for some reason it tasted like solid butter. Delicious, but incredibly rich. Worked great with the crunchy texture of the grits-coated veggies.

Asparagus in the egg whites

Seasoned Breading with Yellow Corn Grits

Eggplant "Fries"

Fried Asparagus and Old Bay Aioli

Fried Asparagus with Grits

Eggplant "Fries" with Grits

One response to “Booze + Fried Things = Good Times

Leave a Reply

