What Southern Girls Eat for Breakfast


SCENE 1: Interior, apartment kitchen. Mid-morning.


ME: I need to use up this heavy cream before it goes bad … think I’ll make some creamy grits to go with my omelet.

CONSCIENCE:
Really? That is a seriously unhealthy breakfast. Couldn’t you just use water? Or even skim milk?

ME: You know what? Just for that, I’m going to add some crispy pancetta in there, too.

CONSCIENCE:
(Shakes head.) Could you at least use what’s left of that bag of spinach in the fridge, and add it to the omelet?

ME:
Oh wow, great idea! I’ll cook it in the pancetta drippings!

CONSCIENCE:
Nevermind. I give up.

DSCF0718

One response to “What Southern Girls Eat for Breakfast

Leave a Reply

