Spaghetti Sorta-Bolognese


I was going to say how I made yet another yummy, Sunday night, wintertime comfort food. But since it was almost 70 degrees here today, I don’t think I can claim that. I can, however claim that it was yummy.

Sweet Spaghetti Bolognese

My little summer-menu-in-the-winter project will continue this week; I’ve got the ingredients for garlic & lemon broiled chicken, and a fresh mushroom risotto, and possibly a stripped-down paella. I also got plenty of suggestions from you all and from friends about the meals you most enjoy in the summer that you wish you could eat more in the winter – I’ll be posting that, and a bunch of recipes, as soon as I have the time to sit and write them all out! I’m looking forward to it! And after the drop-dead gorgeous day we had here today, I’m looking forward to the real thing, too!

Sweet Sorta-Bolognese Sauce
(no measurements – just do it!)
-Roughly equal parts ground beef and crushed tomatoes (1/4 lb beef + 1 small can tomatoes = approx. 3-4 servings)
-Fresh Italian parsley, basil, & oregano (or a smaller amount of the dried stuff)
-Tomato paste and/or puree
-Crushed whole garlic cloves
-EV olive oil
-Red wine
-Balsamic vinegar

Heat the garlic & oil (about medium) together and cook for about 10 minutes – just don’t let it brown/burn. Remove garlic cloves. Meanwhile, brown the ground beef in a separate pan. Add the tomatoes, in all forms, to the oil. Bring to boil. Add herbs & a dash of red wine. Lower heat slightly & simmer for about 15 minutes. When meat is browned, use a slotted spoon to move it into the sauce (you don’t need the excess oil at this point). Stir, then cover the sauce & simmer another 5 minutes. Add a couple of dashes of balsamic vinegar, stir, and simmer another 5 minutes. Serve over pasta and garnish with fresh grated Parmesan.

 

 

Leave a Reply

