Good Food Trumps Healthy Food


I am a total sap for anything involving maple syrup.

I’ll give you a minute to stop giggling at my very clever pun.

Seriously. I love the stuff. Medium amber is my drug of choice. But only recently have I started experimenting with it and learning how to incorporate it into my cooking. Recently, I used it to make a sugary glaze for gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies with Maple Icing

Tonight, I used it in a recipe for a mashed sweet potato dish. Simple as could be – I roasted the sweet potatoes, mashed ’em with butter, baked it, and then poured the maple syrup over them and put it under the (low) broiler for about 8 minutes. Easy peasy.

I also made oven-fried chicken, from that wonderful How To Cook Everything iPhone app by Mark Bittman. NOT a success. Yes, the chicken was cooked through, and yes, I followed all of the directions (this time). But it was terribly bland, and although crunchy, didn’t seem like the “right” crunch, since it was panko. I never did like panko very much, and I definitely don’t like it much after tonight, although my dog didn’t seem to mind it on that chicken.

I might attempt the recipe again but would probably have to include a lot less-healthy components. Like oil. Lots and lots of oil.

Maple-Glazed Sweet Potatoes (yes!) and Oven-Fried Chicken (meh)

Don’t get me wrong. I think there’s a lot to be said for de-fatting and healthy-fying (yep, those are my words and I’m stickin’ to it) traditional comfort foods – like fried chicken – so that you can enjoy them more often. I have had excellent oven-fried chicken before. And I’ll admit that this was my first attempt at it. But I have to imagine there’s a better, more flavorful way that tastes less like dry breakfast cereal.

And now, I’ll finish watching the Golden Globes and top off a healthy dinner with some Ben & Jerry’s.

Leave a Reply

