Buckshot Chicken Chili


So there I am in the supermarket, in typical Sunday football-watching attire, checking scores between aisles, and what do I decide I want to cook? Chili. Of course.

The weather here has been downright teasing: cold at night, but still hitting near 80 during the day, which makes me very confused in my craving for a dish so perfect for cold weather. Undaunted, however, I filled my cart with what I usually put in my chili, along with a few new things to try.

I always, always use a slow-cooker for chili. The only recipe I have for chili that’s actually written down calls for cooking slowly, but on the stovetop. That recipe is excellent, and I always look to it as a springboard. But although I never get too creative with my chili (if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it, right?), I was feeling a bit adventurous, and so used a mix of ground turkey and ground chicken. I know, crazy. I am also a big believer in using beer in chili, and also that the type of beer will make a difference. For this one I used a locally brewed amber ale, and it really enhanced everything else in the pot.

"Buckshot" Chicken Chili

And, for the second week in a row, I don’t have to put lunches together.

Maybe some version of the recipe will make its way onto the website sometime soon. 🙂

One response to “Buckshot Chicken Chili

Leave a Reply

