But if you try sometimes, you get what you need.


I’m not really sure why I wanted to make a “comfort food” kind of dinner so badly, but as soon as I got the idea to make homemade, from-scratch tomato sauce, spaghetti & meatballs was the only thing I wanted to eat. Things are pretty great right now, actually, not really requiring comfort from eating, I thought. But as I kept working on what eventually became an amazingly delicious dinner, I realized that, as always, the comfort is in the process.

Ooops. The moral of the story is supposed to come at the end. Deal with it.

Anyway, I got started with tomatoes. A ton of them. Which I then had to peel & juice. Also, I roasted a head of garlic. One wonderful thing about my tiny kitchen is that now my whole apartment smells WONDERFULLY of roasted garlic. Ahhhh.

About an hour of stewing and simmering later …

I also made these:

And ended up with this:

 

And with that, I officially declare the slump over.

 

(P.S. Of course, I stole the title of this one from the Rolling Stones. Sorry, guys. Don’t sue me.)

One response to “But if you try sometimes, you get what you need.

Leave a Reply

