Local food, Mediterranean style.


Summer yellow squash, cherry tomatoes, and garlic = infinite possibilities

What I was going for in this meal was a big ol’ pile of veggies on a tiny pile of pasta. And that, plus some shrimp and feta cheese, is what I got.

YUM.

I used a whole yellow squash, a handful of cherry tomatoes, another handful of spinach, and a couple of cloves of garlic. Plus, as always, a splash of olive oil and a bit of salt & pepper. For this, because of the shrimp, I used about half a lemon’s worth of lemon juice too. Going for a bit of saltiness, I put in a ripped-up slice of prosciutto, but that didn’t work well and I don’t think I’d put it in again. And then I just couldn’t resist throwing in some feta.

Those who know me (and, more importantly, who know my cooking) know that cheese is a serious weakness of mine. Although in the case of this particular meal, it was certainly not a weakness. I tossed a few crumbles of feta into the pan just for the last half a minute or so of cooking everything else, and it was just long enough for the cheese to take in the flavors of everything else: tomatoes, olive oil, lemon … it just worked perfectly.

Finally, I mixed the whole batch of veggies & shrimp in with some whole wheat pasta. Ta-da!!

 

Lastly, I wanted to give a mention to the NC 10 Percent Campaign. The goal is to get North Carolinians to spend 10% of our weekly food budget on local food – it’s good for us and good for the local economy as well. Please check them out!

One response to “Local food, Mediterranean style.

Leave a Reply

