Thus ends the week of chicken.


Basil & lemon chicken with cherry tomatoes, spinach, and whole wheat spaghetti

Thus ends the week of chicken.

This one ended up well. I think the chicken spent a day or so too long in the freezer – it was a bit tough, despite having cooked it in the oven rather than on the stove. I rubbed the chicken with a mix of chopped garlic and basil, some lemon zest, and a splash of olive oil and baked it. I sauteed the tomatoes for a few minutes (in just a small bit of olive oil), and then added the spinach into the saute pan, then added both to the spaghetti with a little pesto sauce. I also cut up a small slice of prosciutto and put it in with the pasta to help flavor everything a bit more.

I went to the supermarket today and went over my budget, though not on purpose. But I bought a lot of fresh veggies, as well as some shrimp, so the expense shouldn’t be so painful after a couple of good meals … I hope.

Leave a Reply

